A Long Active Summer – Part 1

It’s been a long while since I updated this space – over 2 months actually.  It could mean I had either done absolutely nothing – or, alternatively, I had an extraordinarily busy time.

Happily I can say it was the latter and I was busy doing all the things I would normally be writing about in this space … I was out exploring this great country.

I hiked it.  I biked it.  I boated it.

It was an AMAZING time.

At first I was going to write one post about the entire summer until I realized exactly how long that post would be.  So I decided to break it into a 2-part summary of what I’ve been exploring.

To give you an idea of the ground I covered, the following map shows the 3 major locations I travelled to in July.

Screen Shot 2018-09-11 at 8.14.36 PM
For the purists who know Southern Ontario, yes, I’m aware that (3) Wasaga Beach should be near the bottom of the Bay.  After 3 attempts with this map, I decided this was as good as it was going to get.  Forgive me.

My month of exploring started in Collingwood, about 170 km (106 miles) northwest of Toronto.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My husband and I had gone there for a day of tree trekking and zip lining in an area known as Scenic Caves, but our outdoor adventure included a short hike through the rocky landscape.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is a beautiful part of the province and one that I was already quite familiar with after hiking the Bruce Trail several years ago.  In fact at one point we were on the Bruce Trail for a short distance.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Although there was a cave in here to explore, there wasn’t a chance that I would be attempting to go in there.  Call it “Fat Women Know Better“.

My second key trip of the month was a 2-day excursion with a friend to cycle and kayak.  We were off to Long Sault, near Cornwall over 400 km (249 miles) east of Toronto.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

At this point it was becoming obvious that the heat spell we were having wasn’t going to break and we were in for an exceptionally hot and humid summer.  The cycling portion of this trip along the Long Sault Parkway was an uncomfortable sweatfest.

Crazy people go out on bicycles in temperatures pushing 40C (104F) with the humidity.  On this particular hot day, the views of the St Lawrence River were tantalizing, but we would have to wait for the following day for the water portion of our program.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAlthough the Long Sault Parkway isn’t part of the TransCanada Trail, it is part of the Waterfront Trail that runs along the northern shore of the St Lawrence, Lake Ontario and Lake Erie.

After cycling in the heat of the previous day, we greatly anticipated time on the water in kayaks.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAUnlike the previous day when the winds were chopping up the water, we had mirror-like conditions.  So many fish were jumping, we simply stopped commenting on them when it occurred.

If I hadn’t been completely smitten by the kayaking bug last summer, this particular outing on the St Lawrence River would have sealed the deal.

At one point, 3 geese flew towards the bow of my boat – mere inches above the water.  They passed by my starboard only a few feet away, with the softest of ‘whomp’ noises from their wings.  It was magical.  It didn’t even occur to me to take out my camera.  I was mesmerized.

However, we watched the skies as they got darker and more forbidding and after 3 hours on the water, we made it back to shore shortly before the thunder, lightning, and eventual rain began.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The following week, I was heading back north of Toronto to Wasaga Beach – on the southern tip of Georgian Bay.

I was kayaking again, this time with my sister on the Nottawasaga River.

 

The slow muddy water of the Nottawasaga (pronounced Not-a-wah-sah-gah) didn’t have the same sense of grandness I felt on the St Lawrence, but it was still a lovely way to pass a summer afternoon.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

July was a great month, and I was looking forward to more adventures in August.

 

35 comments

  1. July looks and sounds amazing! You did put on some miles! I loved your thought about entering that small cave opening! I didn’t kayak once this year only talked about it. I’ll have to stop talking and do it next year! Actually, He-Man hasn’t ever kayaked and I’ve been talking to him about having a lesson and he’s game so we’re planning for that too. Probably next year since this year is nearly up.

    I totally understood your feeling of mesmerized when the geese were approaching and passed so close to you. I’ve done the same thing with views, birds, and otters while in a kayak, and on land. 😉

    Like

  2. Hihih thank you for the first giggle of the day. Fat Women Know Better. Bahhahha.

    These appear to be magical moments indeed and I proclaim you a woman who knows how to live. 🙂 (But we knew that.) Let happy hiking, biking and boating continue!

    (One photo doesn’t seem to display, second to last. Did you delete it?) (With your sister on the river.)

    Like

  3. I took a friend kayaking a couple of weeks ago, it was her first time in a solo kayak, and first time on the river. She absolutely loved it. It was a weekday and no one else was out. Water was like glass and the sky was clear. That and hiking are the most peaceful ways I know to connect with nature.

    Like

    • I couldn’t agree with you more about hiking and kayaking. There is something outright meditational about it.

      On our trip north this past weekend to see the Screaming Heads, I found another place to go kayaking. It’s now on my list for next summer 🙂 So much to do, so little time!!

      Like

    • That’s actually a big part of the challenge Janis. We have lots of calm lakes and rivers but accessing them from the city usually involves a few hour’s drive. It’s one of the reasons why I’ve been dragging my feet about buying my own kayak – it’s not like it’s easy for me to go on a spur-of-the-moment paddle.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Donna, we are so lucky to live in such a country full of natural wonder. The truth is that every country is full of wonder – all we have to do is be encouraged and motivated to explore and see it.

      … and you are so right about the magic of being mesmerized by nature. Often it is the simplest of things. The other day I had a flock of Canada Geese fly very low over my head. Again, that very soft whooshing sound of their wings captivated me.

      Like

Comments are welcome and always appreciated!